On December 30th, in 1982, Merle Haggard and Willie Nelson released their duet album Pancho & Lefty.

The title track was written by Texas songwriter Townes Van Zandt. The song tells the story of a Mexican bandit named Pancho and Lefty. The song tells the story that Pancho was killed after he was betrayed by his associate Lefty, who was paid off by the Mexican Federales.

Track Listing:

1. “Pancho and Lefty” Townes van Zandt
2. “It’s My Lazy Day” Smiley Burnette
3. “My Mary” Stuart Hamblen, Jimmie Davis
4. “Half a Man” Willie Nelson
5. “Reasons to Quit” Merle Haggard
6. “No Reason to Quit” Dean Holloway
7. “Still Water Runs the Deepest”
8. “My Life’s Been a Pleasure”
9. “All the Soft Places to Fall”
10. “Opportunity to Cry”

More From Radio Texas Live