The new project from the new look American Aquarium has finally got its release date. Things Change, the first album from BJ Barham and his newly cast band, will be out on June 1st.

American Aquarium, as most of their fans knew them, came to an end in April '17 when it was revealed three of the final four members (Bill Corbin, Kevin McClain, and Whit Wright) were leaving. That announcement came roughly two months after Ryan Johnson, and Colin Dimeo announced their plans to pursue other interests.

But the band's front man and founder, BJ Barham, was quick to assure fans that "American Aquarium" would be back -- and true to his word they are back. We've been looking forward to the release of the aptly titled album featuring the new guys, Shane Boeker, Adam Kurtz, Ben Hussey, and Joey Bybee.

Beyond excited to finally announce that our seventh studio album, Things Change will be out June 1st on New West Records. We recorded this album over nine days in Tulsa,OK with our buddy John Fullbright in the producer chair and Wes Sharon (Turnpike Troubadours, Parker Millsap) sitting behind the knobs. It was mixed by Ryan Hewitt (Johnny Cash, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Avett Brothers) in Nashville,TN and mastered by Dave Collins (Bruce Springsteen, Weezer, Flogging Molly) in Los Angeles,CA. In my twelve years of doing this I have never been more proud of a record. The band, the songs, my writing. I feel like this is such a giant step in the evolution of American Aquarium and I can’t wait for you guys and gals to hear this special collection of songs. We will be touring on the record for the rest of 2018 and will more than likely be coming to a town near you. Our buddy Cory Branan will be supporting all shows on this first leg. All tickets go on sale Friday morning at 10am so if we’re coming close, make plans, tag friends and come feel feelings. If we aren’t, remember this is only the first leg and that more dates are coming. I hope y’all are as excited as I am. Here’s to the summer of 2018!!!

More From Radio Texas Live