Forget the GRAMMYs, the Ameripolitan Music Awards were the trending award show in Austin, Texas this week.

On Tuesday, Feb. 16th, the 3rd Annual Ameripolitan Music Awards took place at the historic Paramount Theatre in downtown Austin, presented by Lone Star, and emceed by the legendary Ray Benson.

Over 1,200 guests and 97 nominees packed the theatre to celebrate the best of Ameripolitan Music; a music genre originally coined by singer/songwriter Dale Watson, defined as having a prominent root influence, not conforming to the ‘country’ of today. It is broken into four related subcategories: Honky Tonk, Western Swing, Rockabilly and Outlaw. Artists and bands can fall into one or more of these categories

There were also special performances by Charley Pride, Bill Kirchen, Georgette Jones, Doyle & Debbie, Rosie Flores, Dale Watson, and Ray Benson. and celebrity presenters included Mike Wolfe of American Pickers, Johnny Bush, Rosie Flores, KOKE FM’s Rita Ballou, James Hand, Amber Digby and James Beard Award winner Aaron Franklin.

Here are the winners from the 2016 Ameripolitan Music Awards:

Honky Tonk Female – Margo Price
Honky Tonk Male – Charlie Thompson
Honky Tonk Group – Jeff Woolsey and the Dancehall Kings
Outlaw Female – Bonnie Montgomery
Outlaw Male – Whitey Morgan
Outlaw Group – Jason Boland and the Stragglers
Western Swing Female – Carolyn Martin
Western Swing Male – Jason Roberts
Western Swing Group – Billy Mata and the Texas Tradition
Rockabilly Female – Marti Brom
Rockabilly Male – Wayne Hancock
Rockabilly Group – The Bellfuries
Ameripolitan Musician – Jason Roberts
Ameripolitan Venue – The White Horse, Austin TX
Ameripolitan DJ – Ted Branson
Ameripolitan Festival – San Angelo Cowboy Gathering, San Angelo TX
Founder of the Sound – Red Simpson
Founder of the Sound – Wanda Jackson
Master Award – Charley Pride

More From Radio Texas Live